The Swiss Evaluation Society, SEVAL, was founded in 1996 to encourage dialogue and the exchange of information and experience about evaluation between politics, public administration, universities and consulting firms and to promote the quality and dissemination of evaluations.

The SEVAL now has some 500 members from all parts of the country. Members come from state universities (including the universities of applied sciences), private sector institutions (such as research offices) and the political and administrative sector (at all levels of the Confederation, i.e. the municipalities, cantons and universities).

Its priorities for 2018-2021 are: to strengthen its position as a professional association and develop measures aimed at improving evaluation quality and quality assurance. The goal is to promote evaluation skills and competences and have them better acknowledged and valued.


  • Annual conference and methodological workshops
  • Study days on a dedicated topic
  • Working groups dealing with specific, evaluation-related topics
  • SEVAL (Research) Prize


  • Development and updating of SEVAL quality standards
  • Definition of the essential competencies (evaluators, evaluation managers – those managing evaluations on behalf of commissioners)
  • Database of evaluators
  • Database of evaluation training courses on offer
  • Postings on Requests for Proposals / Calls for Tender
  • Continuing education courses on offer
  • Members’ information (SEVAL-Newsletter and SEVAL-Flash)
  • LeGes Journal – Legislation and Evaluation
  • Etc.
Stefan Rieder

Stefan Rieder

Interface Politikstudien Forschung Beratung
Seidenhofstrasse 12
6003 Luzern
T +41 (0)41 226 04 26
E-Mail Kurzportrait (PDF 45 KB)
Pia Gabriel-Schärer

Pia Gabriel-Schärer

Hochschule Luzern - Soziale Arbeit
Werftestr. 1
6002 Luzern
T 041 367 48 25
E-Mail Kurzportrait (PDF 72 KB)
Caroline Jacot-Descombes

Caroline Jacot-Descombes

Grand'Rue 8D
1297 Founex
T +41 (0)21 661 22 33
E-Mail Kurzportrait (PDF 92 KB)
Simone Ledermann

Simone Ledermann

Parlamentarische Verwaltungskontrolle
3003 Bern
T +41 (0)583229531
E-Mail Kurzportrait (PDF 89 KB)
Christine Meyer Richli

Christine Meyer Richli

Universität Basel
Petersgraben 35
4001 Basel
T +41 (0)61 207 13 73
E-Mail Kurzportrait (PDF 58 KB)
Claudine Morier

Claudine Morier

Calle Gerona 22, Ático derecha
41003 Sevilla
T +34622917015
Christian Rüefli

Christian Rüefli

Büro Vatter, Politikforschung & -beratung
Gerberngasse 27
3011 Bern
T +41 (0)31 312 65 75
E-Mail Kurzportrait (PDF 113 KB)
Stefan Sperlich

Stefan Sperlich

Universität Genf
Bd du Pont d'Arve 40
1211 Genf
T +41 223798223
Martin Wicki

Martin Wicki

Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen
Effingerstr. 20
3003 Bern
T +41 (0)58 462 90 11
E-Mail Kurzportrait (PDF 64 KB)

For more information